Chapter 1a: I say hello, 3/10/17

Some inspiration for today:

Neither I nor the poets I love found the keys to the kingdom of prayer
and we cannot force God to stumble over us where we sit.
But I know that it’s a good idea to sit anyway.
So every morning I sit, I kneel, waiting,
making friends with the habit of listening,
hoping that I’m being listened to.
There, I greet God in my own disorder.
I say hello to my chaos,
my unmade decisions,
my unmade bed,
my desire and my trouble.
I say hello to distraction and privilege,
I greet the day
and I greet my beloved and bewildering Jesus.
I recognise and greet my burdens,
my luck,
my controlled and uncontrollable story.
I greet my untold stories,
my unfolding story,
my unloved body,
my own love,
my own body.
I greet the things I think will happen
and I say hello to everything I do not know about the day.
I greet my own small world
and I hope that I can meet the bigger world that day.
I greet my story
and hope that I can forget my story during the day,
and hope that I can hear some stories,
and greet some surprising stories during the long day ahead.
I greet God,
and I greet the God who is more God than the God I greet.

Hello to you all, I say,
as the sun rises above the chimneys of North Belfast.

Hello.

by Pádraig Ó Tuama. I met Pádraig via On Being with Krista Tippet.

Belfastchimneys

Photo credit: Carmel Street, Belfast

Leave a Reply

