Chapter 16: Normal days

March and April were crazy and May has been a blink. It is now T-11 school days until school is out for the boys; and T-18 days until surgery. I’m not exactly sure where all the time has gone, but I can tell you that they have been pretty normal days, and for that I’m thankful.

Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. — Mary Jean Iron

Tonight was a fun night with friends at the pool – opening night! The pool is my happy place. There is nothing better than being surrounded by the friends who love you and whom you love. Adult beverages are a nice perk, too.

Tomorrow we are headed to a quick weekend at North Myrtle Beach, SC. The weather should be great and I can hardly wait to get my toes in the sand. Summer is coming!

I’ve had a few realizations the last few weeks. First – Don is a cancer survivor. Did you know that anyone living with cancer is a survivor? Enough of this “cancer patient” stuff. We are all patients of some kind. A survivor is someone who is living through the normal days and the rough days; someone who is pushing through to the other side. You will not hear me say cancer patient again. When you bump into other friends or family members who are in the throes of this disease reassure them that they are survivors!

Secondly – We have amazing friends. I already knew this, but I am so very touched by the friends who have committed to bringing us meals during Don’s recovery. When I gently informed him of this development, he said, “probably bringing food I cannot eat.” That may be true, we shall see. But I reminded him that if I don’t have to think about dinner, I can focus on taking care of him, and the children will still be fed! Of course he agreed and is thankful. I may need to stock up on Ensure and make sure the blender is working for his sake. No biggie.

The pre-op appointment is Tuesday, May 30 – just a few days away. I know we are both eager to go and learn more about what he will be facing in surgery. And I am anxious to find out what to expect when he is home for recovery. I foresee a few more blog posts in the near future.

It’s easy to not notice the normal days. Maybe we spend a little too much time looking forward to The Big Great Thing Coming Up and don’t appreciate the normal days? I know I’m guilty of this. The normal days where it may be close, but the kids get to the bus on time. The normal days where we can tick down the To Do List at work without too many interruptions. The normal days where we wake up a little tired, but healthy, and go to bed a little too late. The normal days where the kids bicker over stupid stuff but we still have three meals, cabinets full of snack options, drawers full of clothes, and a roof over our heads. The special days are great, but the normal days are where we live our lives. We are so very lucky to have normal days.

GVPbluewater

 

 

One thought on “Chapter 16: Normal days

Leave a Reply

